A fine line separates pleasure from turmoil; enjoyment from unease. That vague space has become the inspiration for five artists who, with their videos, are able to concentrate both sensations. During their viewing, the videos generate feelings of repulsion, anguish or annoyance in the spectators; in other shots they become attractive and suggestive. There are many factors that affect human complacency, and the limits that confine them are very subtle. The works selected for the exhibition demonstrate the delicate balance of our emotions. A struggle where pleasant and violent acts compete with each other. Expectation generates anxiety and hope at the same time; filling the void caused by ambition implies a continuous and costly endeavour, which will only be rewarded when it is fulfilled. On the way to happiness, we, human beings, oscillate between that uneasy pleasure implied by having a dream and the satisfaction of being able to make it come true. 

“Pleasure is the beginning and the end of living happily, our first and native good, the starting point of every choice and of every aversion “, declared Epicurus.  To achieve that hedonist objective, the Greek philosopher reflects, we must avoid everything that comes close to its opposite: pain.  This latter case seems unquestionable in absolute terms.  However, certain grey areas can be found on the confines of this premise; bonds and connections that question the apparently imperative distance between pain and pleasure. We feel at ease if everything flows and nothing disturbs us: when the world seems to be under control.  The known, the secure, the established and even routine, are notions associated with physical and spiritual well-being, but if they persist, they can verge on boredom.  Thus, it is not surprising that the dreams and yearnings of the human being are, in some cases, related to experimenting with the other, the forbidden or the unattainable. View PDF Video stills

Eduardo Srur
Anthony Goicolea
Daniel Blaufuks
Eugenio Ampudia
Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová
Brice Dellsperger
Erwin Olaf
Stefan Constantinescu
Maria José Arjona
Sandra Torralba